Coming soon, Purity: A New Testament perspective

So, I’ve been a huge slacker in my own personal blogging the past year.   I don’t really have a good reason, except that I did get really busy towards the end of last year and then got really sick.  As reaction to all the drama that happened that led me to leave my other church, I volunteered for a bunch of activities, one of which was the local Rescue squad.   I had my EMT-B for 4 years, but when I walked in the Rescue squad the beginning of the year last year and requested to rejoin, my certification expired.  Well, long story short, I didn’t get into a class until September of last year and by that time I had started working with my church’s youth group, I was part of two separate life groups (one with my church, and the other with a new church plant), plus my office was in staffing shortage and I ended up working many a double shift.  I ended up with Bronchitis by the end of the year which then turned into Asthma.   Yeah, needless to say I ended up failing the EMT-B practical test which is pretty embarrassing, because 5 years earlier, I had no problem passing the practical and the written the first time I took both.   The end of last year and the beginning of this year have been challenging personally because of health issues and my job driving me crazy, but we’ve had some changes in my office and also hired more folk, so the situation has settled down quite a bit.  I’m even going to be able to go on vacation next week.  WOOHOO!!!   What does all of this have to do with the topic of PURITY that I started last year?  Well, it means that I will be returning to it probably either this week or next week.  I’ve already started a bit of research and have a rough idea of how I’m going to begin it.

If you’re going to talk about the New Testament perspective of Purity you obviously have to start in the GOSPELS.  What did Jesus have to say about purity?  He said quite a bit actually.  Many people have argued that Jesus never really addressed pre-marital sex, or, well, anything that really falls under the topic of purity.  That’s pretty much crap.   Sorry, but I can’t put it any other way…..well, I could, but it’s my blog…suck it up buttercup.   The first perspective will be what Jesus says about purity, the second perspective will be what Paul said (since he wrote the majority of the NT), the third will be Peter’s perspective, and the fourth will be John’s.   I think that should cover the whole topic…..then again, that’s what I’m thinking right now, and may not exactly end up that way.  I know the next blog will definitely be the thoughts/words of Jesus on the topic of Purity. I’m excited to see what GOD teaches me in this study, so stay tuned, it should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

