Some Good stuff

It’s been quite awhile since I actually blogged.  I think the last thing I actually wrote was the message I shared with my youth group back in February.  It’s been a busy couple of months, lots of overtime and some changes.   I interviewed for my bosses position, didn’t get it, then I tested for the 911 center got a 73% and needed an 80%.   I am transferring to the position of ER secretary, it’s 3-4 12 hour shifts a week, I should start next week I think.   That’s what’s been happening the past couple of months, now on to the good stuff.

I started out in Matthew 9. The focus was personal faith and trust in the words and actions of Christ.  In 9:1-8, a paralyzed man is healed, it took a lot of trust and faith to take Jesus at his word and just stand up after Jesus told him to stand, after all he hadn’t been able to move for years.  What’s more, there are the teachers of the law there that are challenging Jesus.   It took a lot of trust and even courage to simply stand up and walk.  9-13 deals with the calling of Matthew, which, to the Jews surrounding Jesus was unthinkable, after all, Matthew was a tax collector, a cheat, a thief.   Which is why Jesus called him.   NO ONE is below Christs love and redemption. 14-17 deals with fundamental questions about fasting.   It should never be about duty, but about the heart.  What are your motives for fasting?  18-26 shows Jesus has the power to heal the sick and raise the dead, even when he isn’t trying.  Jesus was walking to the house of a man whose child had died, and he believed Jesus could raise her from the dead.  As he was walking, a woman who suffered from anemia and bleeding reached out and touched the hem of Jesus’s cloak, thinking that even just a touch of his garment could heal her.  It wasn’t the garment, it was her faith.  Jesus realized her intentions and honored her deed.  Then, he went and raised the dead.  27-34, he heals two blind men and a mute. all in a days work so far for Jesus.  35-38 is the one of the most quoted and written about sections in the BIBLE.  The workers are few and a challenge to every Christian to get off their butt and get into the battle.   So that was the first portion of my devotions, the next part is kind of random.

I’ve been reading the corresponding Psalm and Proverb for the day, so since today is the 13th, I read Psalms 13, 113 and Proverbs 13.  These are some of the verses that stood out to me today:

Proverbs 13:3 Those who guard their lips preserve their lives,
    but those who speak rashly will come to ruin.

Proverbs 13:6:Righteousness guards the person of integrity,
    but wickedness overthrows the sinner. 

Proverbs 13:10: Where there is strife, there is pride,
    but wisdom is found in those who take advice.

Proverbs 13:16: All who are prudent act with[b] knowledge,
    but fools expose their folly.

Proverbs 13:20:  Walk with the wise and become wise,
    for a companion of fools suffers harm.

Psalms 13:5-6: But I trust in your unfailing love;
    my heart rejoices in your salvation.
I will sing the Lord’s praise,
    for he has been good to me.

Then Randomly, I came upon Hosea 6:6

For I desire mercy, not sacrifice,
    and acknowledgment of God rather than burnt offerings.

Which led me to Micah 6:6-8

With what shall I come before the Lord
    and bow down before the exalted God?
Shall I come before him with burnt offerings,
    with calves a year old?
Will the Lord be pleased with thousands of rams,
    with ten thousand rivers of olive oil?
Shall I offer my firstborn for my transgression,
    the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?
He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly[a] with your God.

LOVE those verses in Hosea and Micah.  God doesn’t require things, but actions and motives.   To act Justly, love mercy, walk humbly, have a merciful heart.   That is the basis of Christianity and a relationship with GOD.

Well, that’s what I learned today

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

