What is Sex

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted.  A lot has gone on, and I’ve gotten busy, and lazy, and all kinds of reason.   Biggest one is that I’ve moved and don’t have internet access, so that’s a problem.   This will go along with my study on Purity that I mean to get back to soon.  I found this video just by random chance tonight.   I think we as American Christians, don’t take purity seriously and especially sex, we don’t take seriously.  I think, culturally, today American Christians have taken the concept of Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s “Cheap Grace” to a new extreme.  This is how Bonhoeffer defines cheap grace:

Cheap grace is the grace we bestow on ourselves. Cheap grace is the preaching of forgiveness without requiring repentance, baptism without church discipline, Communion without confession…Cheap grace is grace without discipleship, grace without the cross, grace without Jesus Christ, living and incarnate.”

American Christianity, generally speaking, has taken the gospel of Christ and emphasized forgiveness and love, but has basically said that the responsibility to live as a Christian and the requirement of repentance is no longer culturally important.   Um…I’m sorry, but GOD’s word doesn’t change just because Culture has.  I know that’s not a popular view, but, well, my blog, so deal with it.  I like what John Mark Comer says, “we have to have a higher view of sex”.   We don’t need to say “just say no” or “Don’t because it’s a sin”.  Sex isn’t sinful in the right context, within marriage.   Taken out of the context of marriage, it cheapens the meaning and value of sex.   People become objects for other Peoples pleasure and it makes it more difficult to relate to one another.   Now, the question then becomes what is sex (harken back to old Bill Clinton’s presidency and the discussion of what sex is and yada yada…youtube old BC and the topic of sex and you’d be surprised).  Is it just intercourse or is everything leading up to intercourse (foreplay) included in that definition.  Is kissing included.  Well, that part you have to decide for yourself.  It’s that whole working out your salvation thing Paul talks about, if you don’t know what I mean…Read your Bible.   I’ll eventually get back to my study on purity, because it’s something that is increasingly becoming…..hmmm…..let’s just say more relevant to me right now.  For now, enjoy the video and let me know what you think

Leave a Reply

