‘Murica

I was preparing to continue my study on Purity on Biblegateway.com when I was waylaid by their verse of the day.   It was Isaiah 1: 16-17, which says:

Wash and make yourselves clean. Take your evil deeds out of my sight; stop doing wrong. Learn to do right; seek justice. Defend the oppressed. Take up the cause of the fatherless; plead the case of the widow.                                                                                                                  Isaiah 1:16-17 NIV

That verse in and of itself is amazing, it sums up what true Christianity is, as well as true Judaism.   It’s GOD’s plea to us, well maybe more of a demand or requirement then plea.   As I read it though, I realized I didn’t know the full context that it was spoken in, and I hate that.   I hate cherry picking from the BIBLE to fit what I believe, it should be the other way around.  I should be conforming my life to the BIBLE so that my beliefs are in line with GOD’s.   So I opened up the full chapter of Isaiah 1 and was blown away.   I’ve read it before, multiple times in fact.  I’ve been a Christian and have been in the Christian/Baptist bubble for pretty much my whole life, I’ve read every book in the BIBLE at some point of my life and probably multiple times, even the minor prophet books at the end of the Old Testament, and the book of Jude (it’s one chapter, 25 verses sandwiched between 3 John and Revelation, who actually reads it?).  As I read Isaiah 1, it occurred to me that we’re actually living that chapter now.  Everything the prophet Isaiah said to Israel is relevant to America today.   What do I mean?  Well, we’re going to dig into this chapter, so hold on, it might take awhile for just this one blog, so I may break it down in sections over a couple  of days.  I’ve put off finishing the Purity section this long, what’s a bit longer.   Today, I’m just going to look at the first nine verses:

The vision concerning Judah and Jerusalem that Isaiah son of Amoz saw during the reigns of Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz and Hezekiah, kings of Judah.

A Rebellious Nation

Hear me, you heavens! Listen, earth!
    For the Lord has spoken:
“I reared children and brought them up,
    but they have rebelled against me.
The ox knows its master,
    the donkey its owner’s manger,
but Israel does not know,
    my people do not understand.”

That describes America to a “T” right now.  A nation that was settled by men and women looking for freedom to worship as they pleased.   A nation founded on the principles of freedom of religion has become a nation that is seeking freedom from religion and even faith.   In verse 3, we can replace Israel with America very easily, because that describes us.   Our understanding has left us and we’ve lost our identity as a people.   America is more divided now then it was between 1861-1865 (if you don’t understand the reference…..google the dates, I actually did to make sure I was correct).  Now, before anyone with a leaning to the left has a cow and brings up slavery and the Native Americans, let me say that our Government has made many mistakes, our leaders have never been perfect and they’ve screwed up quite often, with that being said we’ve tried to do right as a nation, however it seems as the 21st century has opened, we, as a nation, have forgotten or even ignored what is right and our heritage.

Woe to the sinful nation,
    a people whose guilt is great,
a brood of evildoers,
    children given to corruption!
They have forsaken the Lord;
    they have spurned the Holy One of Israel
    and turned their backs on him.

WOW!!!  Again, it’s like he’s addressing America.   America is over run with feelings of guilt right now, guilt over racism, guilt over America’s “imperialism”, guilt over how we treat refugees, illegal immigrants, each other, gun violence, you name it, we feel guilt for it…..except abortion, our own sin, how our children have forgotten what it means to actually be a Christian.   They may attend church/youth group/etc, but they don’t actually know what the BIBLE Says about what it means to have a relationship with the creator.     There is a merging of Christian and paganism like never before, and what often GOD condemns as sin as looked at as just another choice in life.  The 10 commandments have become the 10 choices.  We can’t blame the children, because we’re the ones that raised them.

Why should you be beaten anymore?
    Why do you persist in rebellion?
Your whole head is injured,
    your whole heart afflicted.
From the sole of your foot to the top of your head
    there is no soundness—
only wounds and welts
    and open sores,
not cleansed or bandaged
    or soothed with olive oil.

‘Murica has been chastised often, the body of Christ has been chastised often, we are an open wound, and while most of the body of CHRIST is doing it’s best to triage it’s own body, the larger body that is ‘Murica is a bloody mess, an open, festering wound.   We have rebelled against GOD as well as our leadership.  Our leadership has forgotten GOD and proceeds to beat it’s people and ignore the wounds that it has caused.

Your country is desolate,
    your cities burned with fire;
your fields are being stripped by foreigners
    right before you,
    laid waste as when overthrown by strangers.
Daughter Zion is left
    like a shelter in a vineyard,
like a hut in a cucumber field,
    like a city under siege.
Unless the Lord Almighty
    had left us some survivors,
we would have become like Sodom,
    we would have been like Gomorrah.

Vs 7.   WOW!!! If that doesn’t describe ‘Murica today I don’t know what does.   Name a city, and tell me if it’s not suffered from some kind of social meltdown in the past 10 years.   Look at Detroit, it’s a wasteland.   Chicago?  Murder Capital of the US.   Baltimore?   It seems China and Saudi Arabia has a bigger investment in our economy then our own government and our farmland is being shuttered due to government over reach.   This section ends in verse 8-9 as a tale of desolation.   It’s likened to Sodom and Gomorrah, except that GOD left Israel with a remnant of survivors to rebuild, unlike Sodom and Gomorrah.   Will America be that lucky?  Is revival around the corner or is judgement?

I’ll close this section here.   We’ll see if I have time tomorrow to continue to dig into Isaiah 1, I’m definitely going to finish it this week though.  That’s just something that GOD has shown me today.   I’m hooked on Isaiah 1 right now, so I should be digging into more as the week goes by.

 

Leave a Reply

