A New Year

I’ve been putting this off, debating if I should even do a New Years blog, but, eh, why not.   I’m personally excited about 2016 to be honest.   2015 was an interesting year.  It began in heartache and crushing disappointment due to misunderstandings with my old church, but as the year progressed and as I sought understanding through counseling and accountability with true friends, GOD truly blessed and now as 2016 begins I see amazing things that are on the horizon.  The first half of 2015 was full of questioning and self doubt, but as time went on and as I got settled in a new church, which in actuality is my old church that I had left 4 years ago, I realized that moving forward wasn’t as scary and painful as I was making it out to be.

I realized part of the mistake I made in 2014 was that I was isolating myself and making myself only available for the youth ministry and not really reaching out to my peers around me.  Part of that was my schedule, and then part of that was me not really trying.  When I started getting settled back into Mountain View, I made the effort to become a part of a life group first, and if GOD opened up a door to youth ministry, then I would walk though it, but more importantly, I needed to be involved in a life group of folks that were my own age.  MAN, that was a blessing making that choice.   Around June/July time frame, GOD opened up another opportunity to be involved in a new church plant in Culpeper, I didn’t leave Mountain View, but I’ve also followed opportunities to do ministry with Lifepoint Church’s Culpeper plant.   If you’re wondering how and why and if it’s possible to be a part of two church’s I would say it’s possible and not even complicated.  I do my ministry and life group with Mountain view and a life group with Lifepoint, and GOD is blessing.  I don’t see where I have to make a choice, yet.    I also signed back up with the County volunteer rescue squad and am enrolled in an EMT course and test out of it this month, so the past couple months have been busy.   The best thing, however is that I’ve been given the chance to work with Mountain View’s youth group again.  It’s been a huge blessing to me and the youth pastor has been very supportive of me.   We went about it very slowly and prayerfully, which I’m greateful for, but he’s taken a chance on me and I’m appreciative of that.   I was able to speak the end of December and I’m schedule to speak again on the 24th of January.   So, I’m excited about 2016, I’m hopeful that, if GOD leads, then some of the relationships left behind from the old church will be restored, but if not, then I wish them well.   I’m a little conflicted still about my feelings about what happened and how things ended, but for the most part, well, for the most part I’m thankful for how GOD has led me to where I am.  My old church is a good church, with great people and pretty good leadership, I just had a bad experience which was partly….well, mostly my fault.  But life goes on, and we move forward and I wish them all the best, and I hope to be able to reconnect with folks in this new year, if it doesn’t happen, well, then we’ve all made decisions to move forward and hopefully GOD will bless all concerned.    So that’s my new years blog.   I know GOD is going to do something amazing, and I can’t wait to see it unfold.

One thought on “A New Year

Leave a Reply

