My next study Topic: DUN DUN DAHHHHH…….Purity

I’ve been fighting this decision to be completely  honest.   I really didn’t want to touch this topic because it’s so broad and, well, dadgumit, it steps on my toes.   Once I study about it, I have to actually attempt to live it.   This topic has been on my mind for the past couple of weeks and I haven’t wanted to dig into it, but GOD wouldn’t let me off the hook, it kept creeping into my thoughts.   What am I talking about, you may ask?  The topic of purity.  Purity as defined by dictionary.com is:

noun

1.  the condition or quality of being pure; freedom from anything that debases, contaminates, pollutes, etc.: the purity of drinking water.

2.  freedom from any admixture or modifying addition.

3  .ceremonial or ritual cleanness.

4.  freedom from guilt or evil; innocence.

5.  physical chastity; virginity.

6.  freedom from foreign or inappropriate elements; careful correctness: purity of expression.

7.  Optics. the chroma, saturation, or degree of freedom from white of given color.
Ok, well, that’s the dictionary definition, and #5 is probably what everyone thinks about when we talk about purity.   I remember in the ’90’s as a youth worker in Lynchburg, VA, the big emphasis was “True Love Waits”, purity contracts, purity rings, songs such as Rebecca St. James song “Wait for Me”, conferences, books, etc, were all over the place and the emphasis was primarily on sexual intercourse.   I was to find out later that people have ways of figuring out loopholes in those contracts.  You could get around the “technicality” of intercourse by performing oral/anal sex and you were still “preserving” yourself for your future spouse.  Bill Clinton even fed into this with his infamous “what is ‘is’?” statement in defending himself when it was found out a young intern was giving him oral sex under the desk in the oval office. When the Bible speaks about Purity is it only about sex?  Specifically only about intercourse?
 Hebrews 13:4 states:
Marriage should be honored by all, and the marriage bed kept pure, for God will judge the adulterer and all the sexually immoral
Philippians 4:8 states:
Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.
I Timothy 4:12 states:
Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.
Ok, so what does that mean?   Well, that’s what we’re going to look at it over the next couple of weeks because I want to understand it as well.  To me, Purity is a lifestyle choice.  It goes farther then just sex but a decision to live a lifestyle like Christ. What does that mean?  Well, we’ll discuss that at the right moment in the study.   Right now, well, right now I’m going to sleep since I worked 11pm-7am and this topic is a bit too much for me to start with after being up all night.   I’m going to do some studying on it the next couple of days and have the first study blog out by Wednesday…..hopefully…..Unless I chicken out and get too intimidated or convicted about the topic and just blow it off.   Just being honest here.   So for the 12 or so people who actually read this blog, that’s the plan for the moment.
One thought on “My next study Topic: DUN DUN DAHHHHH…….Purity

Leave a Reply

