I’m a Christian but…..NO!! If you’re a Christian understand what it means.

813,863 (yes me included, I actually had to watch it three times so that last three is me) have viewed this video in the past 5 days.   It comes across as a feel good, pander to the new millennial generation, video, but it’s a dangerous piece of fluffy crap.   Oh, was that judgmental?   DOH!!!  Bad Kevin, remember, today’s culture doesn’t support absolutes such as holiness of GOD, Biblical standards, and has a tendency to cherry pick what they believe in the BIBLE, if they’ve even picked it up and read it for themselves.   PEOPLE LISTEN TO ME!!!  IF YOU SAY YOU ARE A CHRISTIAN, OPEN THE BIBLE AND READ IT!!!  BELIEVE IT.   It gives Biblical standards about what it means to be a Christian.  I probably sound like an intolerant, Judgmental, crazy lunatic to most who read this, but, well,  it’s my blog.  I’m a little frustrated with American Christianity these days because it lacks backbone.  We’re scared of being too judgmental, scared of being accused of being intolerant.   Have we been judgmental and intolerant, yes we have.  I grew up in the 80’s in a fundamentalist independent Baptist environment, and there was a lot of judgement going on those days.   I’d like to think I’ve come a long way from that, but there are some things that we as CHRISTIANS HAVE TO STAND FOR.  Among those things is  Biblical inerrancy and the HOLINESS of GOD.

Let’s break this video down and give some Biblical context to it:

  1. “I’m Christian, but I’m not homophobic”:  Romans 1:24-32 has this to say, but before you read it, let me preface this by saying this:  God does not hate homosexuals, Christians (in general) don’t hate homosexuals, I don’t hate homosexuals.  I, personally, don’t care if you’re a homosexual.  According to the below quote for Romans 1, homosexuality is a sin.  With that being said, gluttony is a sin, adultery is a sin, drunkenness is a sin, vs’ 28-32 list off what exactly are some sins.   It’s no worse or less of a sin, sin is sin and sets us apart from GOD.  Can a homosexual be a Christian?  Yes, that’s between them and GOD, if a person prays accepts Christ into their and heart and believes, then I believe they’re saved.  PERIOD.“24 Therefore God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts to sexual impurity for the degrading of their bodies with one another. 25 They exchanged the truth about God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator—who is forever praised. Amen.26 Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts. Even their women exchanged natural sexual relations for unnatural ones. 27 In the same way the men also abandoned natural relations with women and were inflamed with lust for one another. Men committed shameful acts with other men, and received in themselves the due penalty for their error.28 Furthermore, just as they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, so God gave them over to a depraved mind, so that they do what ought not to be done. 29 They have become filled with every kind of wickedness, evil, greed and depravity. They are full of envy, murder, strife, deceit and malice. They are gossips, 30 slanderers, God-haters, insolent, arrogant and boastful; they invent ways of doing evil; they disobey their parents; 31 they have no understanding, no fidelity, no love, no mercy. 32 Although they know God’s righteous decree that those who do such things deserve death, they not only continue to do these very things but also approve of those who practice them.”                  Again, Sin is sin.  Homosexuality is a sin, and it’s between an individual and GOD.  We’re supposed to love people for where they’re at in life, but to say sin is sin is not being judgmental, it’s being truthful. 
  2. “I’m Christian but I’m not perfect”:  AMEN!!!  There isn’t a Christian on this planet that would ever claim that, in fact we all state as a fact that we’ve fallen and we can’t get up without CHRIST.  So, they got that right.
  3. “I”m a Christian, but I’m not unaccepting”:  What in GOD’s great name does that even mean?  Matthew 18:15-17 says this: “15 If your brother or sister[b] sins,[c] go and point out their fault, just between the two of you. If they listen to you, you have won them over. 16 But if they will not listen, take one or two others along, so that ‘every matter may be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses.’[d] 17 If they still refuse to listen, tell it to the church; and if they refuse to listen even to the church, treat them as you would a pagan or a tax collector.”  CHRIST said that.   Is it unaccepting to go to a brother that is sinning and say:  “HEY, you’re sinning, GOD, loves you and there’s a way back, but you have to stop sinning.”  When the Pharisees brought a woman caught in adultery (john 8) before him and demanded he approve of her being stoned, what was his reaction?  He turned it on the Pharisees, and when he looked up, they were gone.  CHRIST’s words to the woman:  1Jesus straightened up and asked her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”1“No one, sir,” she said.Then neither do I condemn you,” Jesus declared. Go now and leave your life of sin.”              Christ didn’t condemn her, but he did say, leave your life of sin.   Was Jesus being Unaccepting when HE told her to leave her life of sin?  Today’s culture would probably be apologetic and say that’s not what he meant.  NO, HE meant stop screwing around outside of marriage.
  4.   “I’m a Christian but I’m not uneducated”:  What?  What does that even mean, are they implying that most Christians are ignorant buffoons that never got beyond Jr/Sr high school?  Personally I’m insulted by that comment.   Do they mean we don’t keep up with the events of life or do they mean we don’t keep up with popular culture?  
  5. “I’m a Christian but I’m not Judgmental”:  <sigh>, refer to point 3.
  6. “I’m a Christian but I’m not conservative”:  What?  Is that political in reference or belief?  Politically you can believe what you want.  Christ was probably considered a liberal in his time, but if HE came back today I’d bet he’d be considered conservative, but whatever, I’m not even sure what that means.
  7. “I’m a Christian, but I’m not ignorant”:  You’re ignorant if you make that comment.  What do they consider ignorant?  Labeling me as “Ignorant” because I believe homosexuality is a sin is ignorant in itself, so who’s being ignorant?
  8. “I’m a Christian, but I don’t place myself on a pedestal”:  Great, that would be idolatry…..which is a sin.  Most Christians I know say that CHRIST is the king, he’s the leader, we’re just followers of the KING.  With that being said, are there some Christians that come across as Holier than thou?  Yes, there are, you’re probably accusing me of being one of those now, but believe me, I’m as big a sinner as the next man in need of GOD’s saving grace, there is nothing special, perfect, or anything that I believe is better than anybody else.
  9. “I’m a Christian, but I don’t have all the answers”:  Man, that is the most honest and believable statement made in that video.  My answers come from the word of GOD, but sometimes that even leaves me with more questions.
  10. “I’m a Christian, but I’m a feminist”:  This was actually stated three times in the “what are you portion” at 1:56.  It’s preceded by them saying “accepting” and “Queer”, (see pt’s 1 &3).  Now, what does it mean to be a feminist?  If it means women should be treated just as equally as men, given the same opportunities, and same pay as men with the same experience and education I’m right there with you, hand raised and will fight with you for those same things.  BUT, if you’re definition of Feminism is that abortion is a viable means of contraception, then we’re going to disagree.   The hypocrisy of the feminist movement is that they insist they can do what they want with their own body….ok, that’s fine, until you have unprotected sex, and make a baby, then you have another life growing inside of you.  So, whose life is more important, the life growing inside of you, or the selfish individual that is seeking to terminate that life.  IF, in the case of incest or rape, one chooses to end that life, well, I can understand, BUT….I believe Oprah was a child of rape, and many people who have gone on to contribute greatly to the world were children of rape.   Abortion, at its core is selfishness.

A lot of other points were made, “I love wine”, “I love me some Beyoncé”, “I’m not afraid to talk about sex”, etc.  The one I really found disturbing though, and that’s because it’s becoming prevalent within Christianity, or maybe not so much prevalent and that it’s always been around, just more open, and that is the comment made at 1:56, when one of the women said, “I do believe in monogamy before sex…”.  Um…what?   I think I see what’s she’s saying, but bottom line, Christ said sex is great….for marriage.  Until you’re married, the guy is supposed to keep his zipper shut.   That’s my interpretation.  Where’s that found?  In the Bible.  Read it.

Why am I spending the time and using up over 1600 words and counting at this point about a meaningless video that BUZZFEED produced on youtube?  Well, because more it’s been trending on Facebook, twitter, and probably other social media sites.  In five days over 800,000 people have viewed it, read the comments on the video, they’re pretty heartbreaking if you’re a Christian.  Does culture view Christianity as Intolerant, judgmental, hypocritical, etc?  Pretty much.  have we been…..yep, guilty.   Are we?  Can’t say for every Christian, but I will say this:   GOD LOVES EVERYONE.  John 3:16 says: 16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. Nothing more needs to be said about that.  Romans 3:23 says: ” 23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God”,  Again, self explanatory.   Romans 6:23: “23 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in[a] Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Sin=Death….self explanatory.   However, Romans 10:9-10 states:  “If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10 For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved.”  Bottom line:  Christ came to seek and to save the lost, of which we are all lost.  At its very core, that’s what Christianity is about.  it’s not accepting and loving one another, it’s accepting and loving the FATHER.

3 thoughts on “I’m a Christian but…..NO!! If you’re a Christian understand what it means.

Leave a Reply

