Psalm 119:169-176

I was just reviewing my blog and realized I hadn’t finished Psalms 119.  Well, since I can’t sleep right now, I might as well finish up the last 8 verses.   Better late then never.   It’s been awhile since I last blogged.  My last blog was my message I gave to my youth group.   It went pretty well, we had a small group that night, but I would like to think it was the group that really needed to hear it.  It was difficult to give to be honest, because it was very personal for me.   This has been a difficult couple months, stuff has gone on that has caused some old hurts and wounds that I had thought I had dealt with reappear and just really eat my lunch.   Feelings of failure, self-worth, self-confidence, crap like that.   I say crap because I’ve come to the realization that Satan pushes these feelings of inadequacy at you and magnifies them with situations in life and the next thing you know you’re practically in the fetal position, sucking your thumb, and emotionally vomiting  crap to GOD that really doesn’t mean anything .   Don’t get me wrong, there are things that I have to deal with, but let’s be honest, when you take most of the issues to GOD, and vocalize them and then listen for GOD’s whisper, man, most of the crap Satan hits you with has no meaning and no bearing at all.   As a child of GOD, I’m valued, loved, cherished, and appreciated far beyond my comprehension.    Instead of looking at the circumstances and moment, I have to keep my eyes on what’s important, and that is my relationship with CHRIST, my ministry that he’s placed me in, and the relationships HE’s surrounded me with.   With that being said though, I do see the importance of stepping back for a little bit to get my head out of my fourth point of contact.  Just a short two-week break to take a breath and then come back and love on the kids that God has placed in my path.

Well, Let’s take a look at Psalm 119:169-176

169 May my cry come before you, Lord;
    give me understanding according to your word.

170 May my supplication come before you;
    deliver me according to your promise.

This verse has significant appeal to me considering everything I just wrote.   David’s prayer is that the Lord listens to his cry, and he’s asking for understanding to deal with something in his life.   That’s especially poignant because that’s been my prayer the past couple of days, and how often when life happens that we all say that.  Our cry is “GOD ARE YOU LISTENING?”   “GIVE ME UNDERSTANDING”.   David is crying this out to GOD,   The last four words are significant because understanding about trials and the crap we deal with comes from studying GOD’s word.   The Bible provides comfort, understanding, and even perspective on GOD’s discipline.    God promises deliverance, of course it comes in GOD’s timing, which is never convenient for us.   We want it immediately, but God’s timing is always best, even though we may not understand or agree.

171 May my lips overflow with praise,
    for you teach me your decrees.

172 May my tongue sing of your word,
    for all your commands are righteous.

David’s prayer is that he is able to overflow with praise during this time of testing.   He’s wanting to praise GOD, because GOD is teaching him things that he needs to learn through whatever it is he’s going through.   The same as with whatever moment we are having.   We need to learn to find a way to praise GOD in the moment for what HE’s teaching us.   It’s pretty difficult to do in the moment, because all we see may be disappointment, hurt, or desperation, but take a step back, go to GOD, start praying and praising GOD, and HE’ll give you a new perspective.

173 May your hand be ready to help me,
    for I have chosen your precepts.
174 I long for your salvation, Lord,
    and your law gives me delight.

David’s prayer is that GOD helps him sort of as a reward for choosing to follow GOD.   This is something that we have a tendency of doing with GOD.  Trying to bargain with GOD and maybe even trying to “Guilt” GOD into helping us.   We say, “LORD help, I’ve been following you and doing stuff for you, see, I’m worthy and really need your help”   We have to realize that we don’t have to bargain or passively aggressively try to guilt GOD into helping us, because even in the moment of crises, even though we don’t see it, HE’s working for us.   Helping us.  Saving us.   David longs for GOD’s salvation and he’s going to the law and finding delight in GOD’s word.  Personally, I can say when life smacks me in the face, I’m not digging as much into GOD’s word, I’m not finding the delight in GOD that David is talking about.   When I do start digging, I end up amazed at how GOD speaks to the situation I’m in and my perspective shifts.
175 Let me live that I may praise you,
    and may your laws sustain me.

David feels like his trail is killing him, and for David, that may have been a valid fear.   Between Saul, the Philistines, and his sons that rebelled, he had a lot of life and death moments.    Our situations may not be as intense as David’s, but in the moment, they are intense and life altering.   David’s prayer is “Let me live that I may praise you”   He finds fulfillment in his relationship with GOD.   “and may your laws sustain me”; The word of GOD is what sustains and feeds him.   We…I need to say this same thing when that desperation hits.   Verbally praise GOD, seek the sustenance that our soul craves.
176 I have strayed like a lost sheep.
    Seek your servant,
    for I have not forgotten your commands.

Davids admission.   He’s strayed, he needs to be found and he’s forgotten what he’s learned from the law.  This has been my prayer a couple of times.   I’ve felt like that lost sheep and my prayer has been for GOD to seek me, and HE has, He does.   He doesn’t abandon us.   He’s normally right there with us, even though we don’t acknowledge HIM.   We just have to remember to put our hand back into HIS and allow HIM to lead us back to where we need to be.

So, it’s only taken almost two years, but Psalm 119 is complete.   I’ll go back to Nehemiah next week and finish that chapter up hopefully by the end of October or November.   Hope you enjoyed this.

Leave a Reply

