PSALMS 119;145-152

Psalm 119:145-152

145 I call with all my heart; answer me, Lord, and I will obey your decrees.

A passionate call for personal worship in David’s life.    David often states that he calls out to God with “ALL HIS HEART”.  What does that mean?  More to the point, what does that look like?  For David, it was unashamed, passionate, everything within him worship.  There is ample Biblical evidence that David went all out when he worship, when mourned, when he celebrated, and when he sinned.   His screw ups were huge, but his worship tended to be bigger.   Maybe to compensate for his screw ups.  When David brought the Ark of the covenant back to Jerusalem, he danced til he broke a sweat and was ridiculed for it.  In II Samuel 6, David danced with all of his might, so for David, Passionate worship is a full body and emotional experience.  Is that the model or the exception?   What does Passionate worship and passionate relationship with Christ mean to me and how does it express itself?   

146 I call out to you; save me and I will keep your statutes.

This seems like a conditional statement on the surface.   It looks like an “IF” “THEN” computer statement.   “IF” this happens, “then” this will happen.  It’s not however.   David is saying “I call”, it’s a statement, an action and a request at the same time.   He’s saying “since I called out, save me and I won’t do ______ again”.   This is a very human statement, I’ve often said this myself; so is David wrong to be saying this?   I don’t think so.   It leads back to intent of the heart, which God gauges.  A statement like this is made between you and God.
147 I rise before dawn and cry for help; I have put my hope in your word.

David is an early riser evidently.   He gets up before the sun, before the rush of the day to get alone with God and to study God’s word.   This is one model for Christians to emulate.   Many people will say this is the only model to emulate.   That we need to get up early and spend time with God.   For David, and many folks, this works.   I think the model is that David is setting time aside to pray and study period.   That’s what we need to emulate.  No matter the time of day, we need to set it aside to spend with God.
148 My eyes stay open through the watches of the night, that I may meditate on your promises.

David is staying up late into the night to spend it with God.   I don’t think there’s anything more that needs to be said, it’s pretty self explanatory to me.   
149 Hear my voice in accordance with your love;preserve my life, Lord, according to your laws.

A request, yet also a statement.   David’s seeking to know God and have God hear him because he know’s God loves him with out any doubt.   God has stated so much in the law, in God’s word, in God’s action, that He loves His children.   So David is saying “I know you love me, your word says so, so here is my prayer, Hear it.”   I can come before Christ with the same confidence.
150 Those who devise wicked schemes are near,but they are far from your law.

Another statement from David that I love.    Almost contradictory, yet not.   The wicked people that are looking for him to fail are close, but they are far from God’s law which means they can’t get near him.    It’s amazing how true that statement is.  No matter how close those that want you to fail get, the bottom line is that if they’re not part of God’s family, then they are far from God’s child.  While they can impact the child of God, they can’t defeat or bring them down.   Tha’ts a promise.
151 Yet you are near, Lord,and all your commands are true.

A continuation of vs 150.  The promise to the statement.   They may be close enough to impact the child of God, but the Lord is near and will protect because all of HIS commands are true.   That’s the promise.
152 Long ago I learned from your statutes that you established them to last forever.

David learned a long time ago from the time of this writing, that everything GOD says is true and can be trusted and will last forever.   A statement any Christian can trust in and emulate.    Learn God’s statues, teach them to the young and bring the young up to a place they can trust in God’s statutes.

Leave a Reply

