Psalm 119:137-144 The Righteousness of the Law

This sections continues Davids praise of God’s law.  It’s almost redundant, but it shows how much he loves reading the Law and how beneficial it for him.   He can’t get enough of it and his love grows exponentially every time he reads it.    It’s a little convicting.    David spends so much time writing and praising God’s word, that, as a modern day believer reading it now, I feel like saying: “I get it David, now get on with the next topic.”    Then I have to stop and realize, shouldn’t my passion and desire for God’s word be equal.   If my lackadaisical attitude towards this section and my dismissive attitude reflected on my faith and my study of the Bible?    It probably is.   If I look at a section and say “I get it, now on to the next thing”, am I taking it for granted?  David, in this section isn’t taking anything for granted.  He gets it.  He gets that God’s word is life and inspiration and food for the soul.   Lets look deeper into this.

137 You are righteous, Lord,
    and your laws are right.

A reoccurring them for David.  God’s righteousness and the rightness of God’s laws.   David has seen this often in his own life.   Even in the hard times of being chased by Saul and the wars of the Philistines.    God’s righteousness is a constant.   In my life I see that even though I’ve often whined and complained about the trial, I cannot complain about the lesson I’ve been taught when I’m through it. 

138 The statutes you have laid down are righteous;
    they are fully trustworthy.

God’s word is righteous and trustworthy.  Another seemingly redundant statement, but let’s be honest.  Redundancy helps you remember.   God’s word is fully trustworthy and God is is righteous.  
139 My zeal wears me out,
    for my enemies ignore your words.

It’s a common problem with Christians.   We tire in the Battle.  David’s desire and his zeal for the Lord is reaching his human limit.   Those around him are ignoring the word of God and David is tired of the battle.   That’s a statement that can be said today.   As I look at the news and current culture, the world isn’t ignoring, they’re blatantly flaunting their disregard of God’s word and basic values.   You get to to the point of saying “what’s the use, no one is listening”.  But then One person does listen and it renews the desire to keep going.  We need to find the one’s that will listen
140 Your promises have been thoroughly tested,
    and your servant loves them.

David restates vs 138.   A reaffirmation of his love.
141 Though I am lowly and despised,
    I do not forget your precepts.

David is humbled and hated by people.   He is at a low point in his life and it’s easy to forget and blame God, but he states again that he is keeping faith with God.   He will continue to trust in the precepts of God.    When hard times come, it’s easy to overlook and run away from God, or to just throw up your hands and sit down in the mud pit of depression and wallow in it.  To just set the Bible aside and not listen.   David clings to the hope that the law gives him.   That’s the lesson I need to learn and live.  To cling to the hope, to dig deeper into the Word when the going gets rough…..or when the going is easy.   
142 Your righteousness is everlasting
    and your law is true.

God’s word is forever.  Unending, eternal, everlasting.   The word of GOD is truth.
143 Trouble and distress have come upon me,
    but your commands give me delight.

Through every bit of distress or crap that comes his way, David can honestly say that God’s word gives him delight.  Oh man, I wish I had his zeal.   And it’s possible to have his zeal for the word of God.    I love God’s word, but can I say they’re my delight?   Are they a passion for me.   I got to be honest and say they’re more of a comfort, a curiosity, even truth.   Can I say it is a delight to read God’s word?   I’m afraid to give an honest answer.  It’s something I still need to work on.
144 Your statutes are always righteous;
    give me understanding that I may live.

As David concludes this section, he restates that God’s laws, God’s word is righteous.   His desire is for understanding so that he may have life.   He knows that with understanding of God’s word, there is life.   God’s word not only gives us understanding about who God is, but it helps us to understand the world around us and it gives us direction to live.   When David is saying “give me understanding that I may live”, his desire is to understand not only God’s word, but the world around him.   That should be my daily prayer.   God Give me understanding  that I may live.

Leave a Reply

