Psalms 119:109-112

109 Though I constantly take my life in my hands,
   I will not forget your law.     David lived a dangerous life.   As a young man, he never hesitated to defend his flock, as warrior in King Sauls court, he was a “lead from the front” type of leader.   As king, he still went to battle until his generals told him he was too old, so when he says He constantly takes his life in his hands, he’s not over exaggerating.    Though he acknowledges the risks he takes with his life, he states that he not forget the law that he has ingrained in his heart.   As a 21st century American Christian, my life isn’t in constant danger as Davids, but the principle remains the same.   No matter what the distractions, I have to keep focused on God’s word, make that my prime “distraction”….my obsession.
110 The wicked have set a snare for me,
   but I have not strayed from your precepts.  There were people both internally and externally in David’s life that were looking for any opportunity to cause David to fail.   Men in Sauls court that were jealous, ambitious men in his own court, surrounding kingdoms, even his own family members that were trying to ensnare David.  If we look closely enough, we could also say that David, himself, was the cause of many of his own troubles.    While he may have become distracted and unfocused, David can honestly say that he has done his best to live according to God’s precepts.    Personally, I think God is very realistic about HIS creation.   HE doesn’t expect us to live perfect lives and never sin, what HE expects from us is to live in a way that reflects HIM.   To try to live according to the word of God, to live a life that is loving and honorable and to give glory to HIM and worship HIM.    Will I fall and do stupid things.  Yep.  What’s the next step after I fall?  It’s repentance.  Repentance isn’t just saying I’m sorry until the next time I screw up, it’s a genuine heartfelt turning away and moving forward.    It’s stepping away completely from the sin that I found myself in and through the grace of God forgetting it and leaving it and running towards God and forward to a fresh life that Christ provides.  
 111 Your statutes are my heritage forever;
   they are the joy of my heart.    God’s word brings joy to David’s heart, they are his heritage.   To have an heritage, is to have a legacy and a history.   Something you can point to and say, that is a part of my life that I can give to the next generation.  
112 My heart is set on keeping your decrees
   to the very end.  No matter what, David is determined to keep God’s decrees, to the very end of his life.   It should be a determination for every Christian to say that.

Leave a Reply

