Psalms 119:105-108 Lighting the path and acceptable praise.

105 Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.    I love David’s simple statements.   God’s word is a lamp in the dark that lights his path.   Really, there isn’t much more you can say about that statement.   God’s word is illuminating, it sheds light on the darkness and gives hope, direction, safety.   What more can be said?

106 I have taken an oath and confirmed it, that I will follow your righteous laws.  His oath is to follow God’s word.   He’s made it official and public.   He will follow God’s laws.   That is something that I must do also.  Any Christian should do this.  To publicly state that they will follow God’s word.  

107 I have suffered much;  preserve my life, LORD, according to your word.    David understands suffering, at this point in his life, he’s experienced quite a bit of it, so his cry to God is HELP….YOU’VE PROMISED.   That is, quite often, the prayer everyone prays eventually….sometimes daily or even hourly.   He looks to God, his hope is resting firmly on God, and he know’s it’s guaranteed, because God has written it in HIS word.   The question is:  Are we believing that God will help us or are we to busy throwing accusations at HIM about why whatever it is, is happening?  Personally,  I know I’m about 50/50 with this.  In the past I’ve spent more time throwing the “WHY”….and the “WHERE ARE YOU GOD”, instead of the: “I know you’re there and working, and I’m not going to freak out”   It’s only in the past couple of years that I’ve been able to actually find peace in trials by relying on God.   The trials still there, God doesn’t miraculously make it disappear, but HE does shield me, HE does bring people along side of me to help me, and HE does provide resources at the appropriate time.
108 Accept, LORD, the willing praise of my mouth,  and teach me your laws.   David just wants to praise God.    That’s his whole desire.  To praise and be taught.   Is that my prayer?   Is that your prayer?  (the 5 people who actually read this blog)   Is that a statement that I say often in my prayer and meditation time?    I wish I could say that it was.  Again, I’m probably 50/50 with that.  

I’m going to save the last four verses for later.   I’ll stop this blog with verse 108.

Leave a Reply

