Psalms 119:93-96

93 I will never forget Your precepts,
For by them You have revived me.    David has restated vs 11.   In Vs 11 he said: “Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.”   It’s a continuing theme for David.  Hiding God’s word, memorizing God’s word in his heart because it is his reference point.   He can pull it up on his “internal database” at any time.   It revives him and strengthens him.   It’s an important trait and habit to have for a Christian.  To know GOD’s word, to have it as your reference point.   Without a knowledge of God’s word, how can we stand against the Devil or man for that matter.   Everyone needs a reference point for their life, something that points their way.   The Bible should be a Christians reference point.  It should be the only book that they use as a manual.  Any other book is good for information, good for entertainment, but the BIBLE is the necessary book to be my/your reference point for knowing CHRIST. 
94 I am Yours, save me;
For I have sought Your precepts.   David’s statement of ownership.   In affect, he’s saying he belongs to GOD.  His life is not his own, but God’s and only God can save him.    He’s asking for help based on the fact that he is seeking after GOD.    That should be my attitude as well.   That I am God’s, only HE can save me and I have to come to the point where I NEED to seek after God.   My salvation is only in Christ.  The Latin term is Christos Solus, Christ Alone.
95 The wicked wait for me to destroy me;
I shall diligently consider Your testimonies.    Though I may not realize it, the wicked are watching and they are looking for ways to discredit me.   That’s a statement that David makes and all Christians should understand that it is still relevent today.    They may not be aggressive in their actions, but there are people out there that want to discredit Christians in any way possible.    David’s answer to that:  Focus on GOD.   That’s what it means when he says ” I shall diligently consider Your testimonies”   It also is one of the constant themes in Psalms 119: Hide God’s word, study God’s word, Conside….it’s almost redundant, but that’s how important it is to David.  How it should be important to any Christian.
96 I have seen a limit to all perfection;
Your commandment is exceedingly broad.  I”m a little perplexed by this verse to be honest.  I’d be interested in hearing opinions. 

Leave a Reply

