Psalms 119:87-88

For some reason, I didn’t finish this up on Tuesday.    These last two links are linked to 83-86, but I seperated them for some reason.   Well, let me finish it up, so I can start looking at the next section.

87 They almost wiped me from the earth,
   but I have not forsaken your precepts.   David statement is interesting in it’s sense of desperate hope.   His enemies have brought him to the lowest point in his life, his sense of desperation is so intense that he feels like dying.    How often have we…..have I….come to this point.   I know there have been times in my life where I felt so desperate that I wanted to die and have felt there was nothing left to look forward to.  Yet David’s final statement in this verse shows his character and integrity.   He says “I have not forsaken your precepts”  tho he’s at the lowest point in his life, he’s still holding on to his relationship iwth God.  That’s an example that I must learn from.   When the crap hits the fan and I’m left grasping for whatever line is left for me to hold on to, I have to remember to keep my faith in Christ strong no matter what is going on.
88 Preserve my life according to your love,
   and I will obey the statutes of your mouth.   His simple request for the preservation of his life because of God’s love.   His promise to obey God as a result.   It’s almost like a foxhole conversion promise.   An if then statement.   “If you get me out of this, I swear, next time, I’ll obey”    This is a typical human sttement and David is being honest.   He’s begging God to get him out of whatever situation he’s in, because HE loves him, and David will obey God.   I’ve often made this same promise.  “God, help me and the next time this situation comes up, I swear it won’t happen again.   Interesting way to end a section.

One thought on “Psalms 119:87-88

Leave a Reply

