Psalms 119:75-77

75 I know, LORD,  that your laws are righteous,
   and that in faithfulness you have afflicted me.    The Common English Bible Translations is: “LORD, I know that your rules are right  and that you rightly made me suffer.”    It begs the question, at least in my mind, of: “Does God allow suffering or cause suffering?”   I think he allows it, but doesn’t cause it.   What I mean is, we know HIS laws, His rules, when we don’t follow them there are natural consequences that HE doesn’t shield us from.   It’s a cause and effect.   Choice and consequence.  Consequences for making a choice aren’t always bad, we’ve turned the word “Consequence” into a punishment term, and it’s not necessarily a punishment.  It can be if we’re doing wrong, but the consequence of a good decision is a positive outcome.  What David is saying is, that he knows Gods rules are right, and, possibly, in this instance because he didn’t follow them, there are consequences, hence, suffering. 

76 May your unfailing love be my comfort,
   according to your promise to your servant.   In the suffering of  the consequence, David is leaning on God’s unfailing love for comfort.   It’s a promise.   Like any father, God promises to never leave us or forsake us (Heb 13:5) is one of comfort for any of us in time of struggle.  God loves me regardless of my behavior, it’s a promise.  Does this give me license to do whatever?   I would be one ungrateful and narcissistic person if I did.   I have to just read through Romans and Galatians to realize that I have a responsibility to actually live as a Christian.  To live in freedom. 
77 Let your compassion come to me that I may live,
   for your law is my delight.    God’s compassion is limitless.   That boggles my mind because my compassion has a limit and usually stupid people are that limit.   Which is ironic, because then I wouldn’t have any compassion for me.   And, to be honest, a lot of times I don’t have any compassion for me.  I’m harder on myself than anyone.   But David draws on God’s compassion.   He draws a distinct line that links God’s compassion with life.   That line is God’s law; or in the case of the Christian, God’s word.   My life has to be along the lines of the word.   I must find delight in God’s word so that I might have life.   I can live, but not have “Life”.  The distinction is that I may be breathing an inhabiting space on this planet, but my life is only fulfilling when I find God’s compassion for me and delight in HIS word and follow it.   No other religion on this planet has an emphasis on love, compassion, responsibility,hope  like Christianity.   May I find my delight in God’s word today.

2 thoughts on “Psalms 119:75-77

Leave a Reply

