Listening to God when it’s time to make a move

So, I’m speaking tonight to Revolution (it’s my turn in the rotation), and this is my lesson.  Enjoy.

Listening to God when it comes time to make a move
I Kings 18-19
INTRO:
I often say I don’t understand when God speaks, that God needs to apply an iron skillet to my brain pan for me to understand.  Tonight we’re going to look at why it’s important to listen for the still small voice when it comes time to make a move for God.   Whether you stay or leave a ministry shouldn’t be based on external circumstances but on the leading of the Lord.
Read I Kings 19:1-9
Back story:
-Ahab King of Israel
-Most wicked king of Israel (I Kings 16:30-33)
-Married Jezebel, the most wicked queen
-Israel’s wickedness caused God to bring a drought on Israel as a Judgment (I King 18:1-8)
Elijah’s Challenge
-God instructed Elijah to confront Ahab
-Ahab (coincidentally) instructed Obadiah his Adjutant, to go in search of water for his horses
-Elijah met Obadiah on the road
-Obadiah had secretly hidden 100 prophets at the cost of his life
-Elijah instructed Obadiah to go to Ahab with a challenge
-***When God moves, he often forces us out of comfort zones***
– Elijah challenges Ahabs prophets to a sacrifice challenge, whomevers god burned up the sacrifice was the one true god.
– Ahab’s 400 prophets spent 8 hours trying
– By noon time Elijah started Mocking.
-By Evening Elijah took up the challenge, built his alter, made a trench around it and drenched it with water until the trench was filed.
– Elijah prayed and God brought the fire, God destroyed the prophets of Baal, and started a revival.
-God relieved the drought
-Elijah sent his servant 7 times  to look for a sign
-There is a lot of Pressure/anxiety when God is moving
– Expectations can be overwhelming
Chapter 19
– We looked at Jezebel’s threat
-Satan wants to derail God’s moving
-God’s desire is for us to stand firm and overcome.  What may appear as an immovable obstacle, actually has a foundation of sand
-Elijah’s reaction:  HE ran
-Expectations sometimes overwhelm us
– Pressure and relief drain us if we focus on the externals.
***The question of how/what do learn from Elijah’s attempted escape is now raised.   The consequence of not listening or heeding God’s leading is that God completes your task through other people.  How do we know when it’s time to stay or when God’s leading us elsewhere?***
-God will often “shrug” His shoulders when we’re bound and determined to do our own thing and

      allow us to go off on our own.

– Elijah spent two months on the road on a trip of self pity, depression, and ultimately discovering God anew

– God asked him twice what he was doing
-He gave excuses both times, he felt isolated
-God knows, he allows us to give our explanation/excuses
– God steps in at the appropriate time and refreshes us
***When we see only the externals, we don’t see how God is moving***
-Forgot about Obadiah’s work
– Hadn’t seen the 7000 God had set aside
– Forgot Israel had proclaimed God at the conclusion of the challenge
***God tells us to Listen:
-Not to the wind
-Not to the Earthquake
-Not to the Fire
-We are to listen for the still small voice of God
-It comes from trust from past experience
– It comes from Abiding in his presence:  Spending time with him
-It comes from shutting up
-God called Elijah to anoint a new generation of Leaders
-Elisha broke with his past
– His leaving was with parental blessing (inferred)
– In celebration
– He left everything and didn’t look back
-Sometimes the still small voice is telling us to stand fast, hold on, wait.  It’s about God’s right time for you.  God wants His servants willing, and in healthy relationships to start a movement.   Past bitterness/hurt will affect your present presence
***When it’s time to move, there will be confirmations****
-We have to be in prayer
-We have to be willing
-We have to be seeking
-THE ANSWER WILL COME IN GOD’S TIME AND AFTER WE’VE DUG INTO GOD

25 thoughts on “Listening to God when it’s time to make a move

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

    Like

  2. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually know what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Please also visit my website =). We could have a link exchange arrangement between us!

    Like

  3. Someone essentially help to make seriously articles I would state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular publish extraordinary. Magnificent job!

    Like

  4. I did however expertise some technical points using this website, since I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

    Like

  5. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

    Like

  6. What i do not understood is actually how you’re not actually much more well-liked than you might be now. You are very intelligent. You realize thus considerably relating to this subject, made me personally consider it from a lot of varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless it’s one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. Always maintain it up!

    Like

  7. I really wanted to post a simple word so as to thank you for those fantastic facts you are writing on this site. My long internet investigation has now been recognized with brilliant facts to write about with my best friends. I ‘d point out that most of us website visitors are truly endowed to dwell in a notable website with so many lovely professionals with great plans. I feel somewhat lucky to have used the weblog and look forward to really more entertaining moments reading here. Thanks a lot once more for all the details.

    Like

  8. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really know what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Please also visit my web site =). We could have a link exchange contract between us!

    Like

  9. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

    Like

  10. I precisely wished to say thanks all over again. I am not sure the things I would’ve done without the entire advice discussed by you relating to that field. It had been a very terrifying difficulty for me personally, but witnessing this specialized fashion you processed that forced me to jump with gladness. I am happier for the guidance and even hope that you know what a great job that you are carrying out teaching men and women thru your blog. I’m certain you’ve never come across all of us.

    Like

  11. I’m also writing to let you know what a brilliant discovery our girl obtained checking your webblog. She learned so many issues, most notably what it’s like to have an amazing helping mindset to let many people effortlessly know precisely a number of extremely tough things. You actually did more than our own expectations. I appreciate you for giving those warm and helpful, trusted, revealing and even cool tips about that topic to Mary.

    Like

  12. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i am happy to convey that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to don’t forget this web site and give it a glance regularly.

    Like

    1. I haven’t really looked into how people can subscribe by email and, at this time I don’t have a newsletter service. I try to post once or twice a week at least. I’ll have to look into the email subscription issue.

      Like

  13. I will right away grab your rss as I can’t find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

  14. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely wonderful. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is actually a terrific site.

    Like

  15. you are really a good webmaster. The web site loading speed is incredible. It seems that you’re doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a wonderful job on this topic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

