Psalms 119:57-58

57 You are my portion, O LORD;
   I have promised to obey your words.    The definition of Portion is: a part of, a segment, an inheritance.   For David to say, God is his portion, he’s saying God is his inheritance, God is a part of him.   I think it’s clear that David isn’t saying he is part God, but that God has a part of him (David).    This is no statement of arrogance, but a statement of trust, belief, and one of a servant.   David is saying he promised to obey the words God reveals to him.  So, the question comes of, how does this relate to me right now, in the 21st century?   Looking at this verse, I see a man who is stating that God is his portion, a part of him, his inheritance.    Personally, I have to say that I’m working towards that statement.   I’m not quite there yet.   I have promised to obey God’s words, but, man, how often do I break that promise.   It’s a desire I have, but one I fail at.   That’s the amazing thing about God’s grace though.   His forgiveness.   It covers all, and He honors those that chase after HIM.
58 I have sought your face with all my heart;
   be gracious to me according to your promise.    David is well known for being a man after God’s heart.   God made that statement about this fact in I Samuel 13:14: ….”the LORD has sought out a man after his own heart and appointed him ruler of his people, because you have not kept the LORD’s command.” It’s stated again in Acts 13:22.   David even states that his desire is to seek God with all his heart.   That’s an amazing statement.  What I’m truly thankful for is that God shows us the warts and imperfections of our role models in the Bible.   David wasn’t perfect, and in fact he had a bad habit of being selfish, but his desire was consistent in that he wanted to know God, and when he was convicted of his sin, his repentance was genuine and sincere.   The last part of the verse is a great request; “be gracious”.    He’s asking for grace, he’s asking for favor from God.    I don’t see this as a “tit for tat” type thing, (i.e. David saying “Because I’m seeking you with all my heart, I deserve your grace, so keep your promise”).   It’s more of a plea I think.    The example for me is I have to come to the place where I can say I am seeking God with all my heart.   For it to be the sole focus of my life and to seek God’s favor and grace continually.  God has promised us favor and grace, but how often do I ignore it for the expedience of the world.   To seek God with all my heart.    That is the goal.

Leave a Reply

