Psalms 119:51-54

51 The arrogant mock me without restraint,
   but I do not turn from your law.    How often do we do the opposite?   We are mocked by the arrogant, so we retaliate with sarcasm, or harshness.   I know I do, actually, I sometimes react with cheesiness.   What is the lesson from David in this verse?   He says ” But I do not turn from your law”.   For David, the law was his scripture, it was his baseline; it was the way he measured his faith and what developed his worldview.   The same can be said for me.   While I’m not ruled by the law, it is the word of God that is my baseline, it’s how I measure my faith and develop my worldview.   When he says he doesn’t turn from God’s Law, he’s saying he is staying focused on God’s word and how he should live his life.    When mocking happens, that’s the lesson I need to learn, to react as the word show’s me how to react.   React how Christ would react.   With dignity, love, and an unbending will. 
52 I remember your ancient laws, O LORD,
   and I find comfort in them.    David was taught from a young age the law, like any young  Jewish boy, it was instilled in him from the time he could comprehend, so as an adult he can say “I remember….”.   When trials came he could dip into the wealth of promises he had learned and find comfort in those promises.   Likewise, for me, when trials come, I can dip into the verses I memorized as a child and find comfort in them.   BUT, I must not rely on the verses I learned and memorized as a child.  I have to keep digging into the word of God and continue to memorize so that, if a time comes I do not have access to the Bible, I can readily find comfort in the word of God I’ve committed to memory.
53 Indignation grips me because of the wicked,
   who have forsaken your law.  The Definition of indignation is: “strong displeasure at something considered unjust, offensive, insulting, or base; righteous anger.”   So David is basically saying, for all intents and purposes, “the wicked piss me off”.    I can relate to that.   I look at the world today and see the things going on, and I’m filled with indignation.   I see the basic attack on Christianity and moral values and it’s sickening.   David saw the same thing during his day, in the nations around him were godless, wicked nations.  It’s amazing to me how technology may change, but basic human nature doesn’t.   The venues, the delivery methods, the cultures may change, but at our very nature we still desire the same things that haven’t changed since Adam and Eve were thrown out of Eden.    Wickedness is wickedness.  It hasn’t changed except in its delivery method.                                                                                                                                         54 Your decrees are the theme of my song
   wherever I lodge.    I see this as David saying, God’s heart is his true home.   God’s decrees are the theme of his song, wherever he lays his head.     In the same sense, I have to come to the point where I am able to say in my own life, “Wherever I lay my head, my focus is continually on God.”   Wish I could say that, but I tend to get….distracted.   As a musician, David probably had lyrics or harmonies running around in his head constantly, so for him to say God’s decrees are his theme for songs is pretty amazing.  Was he in a constant state of praise…..I would like to think so, but I and II Samuel, and I Kings prove otherwise.   What he was, is a man whose desires were to praise God, even in his consequences.    Man, what a lesson for an average guy.

Leave a Reply

