Psalm 119: 41-42 and new seasons

I went a whole week without blogging on Psalms 119.   The implication then is that I didn’t even look at it, and that implication is correct because I didn’t even crack my Bible open at all last week.   Not sure why, but there it is.   It was a crazy week and I got distracted by incidentals to be honest.  Let’s try and catch up now.   Here’s verses 41-42 at least:

 41 May your unfailing love come to me, O LORD,
   your salvation according to your promise;   The promise of salvation is from the Lord.  David recognizes that Salvation is from God alone, that no other can provide salvation or even keep the promise of salvation offered.   The god’s of his nieghbors offer salvation, according to their priests, but remain mute when trusted.   God promises salvation, and not only salvation, but unfailing Love.   Not only does God provide salvation, but unfailing love.  True Agape love that knows no end or has no limitations.  That’s amazing to me.   For me love has been conditional, boundaried by human limitations.   For me to conceptualize unboundless love….I can’t.    I can’t fathom what unfathomless love is like.   I can’t imagine doing it on my own.   That’s the great thing about God, though.  His “thinkable” is overwhelming to my limitations.
42 then I will answer the one who taunts me,
   for I trust in your word.   We have our answer to our critics in God’s love and salvation.   By trusting in the word of God, in trusting in God period, we have the answer.   We don’t have to defend God, but we do have to answer with HIM.  Not for Him, but with him.  We/I have to echo Christ when critics taunt me.  God will provide the words, I just have to be willing to open my mouth at the appropriate time.

Wow.  I got more out of that than I expected.   God is amaing.  

It’s been an exceptional beginning of Fall.   Revolution is beginning to transition into a new phase a new season.   I’ve seen the leadership grow in incredible ways and it’s exciting to see.  MVCC is beginning the youth pastor search and even though I’m a candidate, there are no guarentees.   I honestly want God’s best for this position, but I also realize I may not be God’s best for this position and that my best may be elsewhere also.  We’ll just have to see how God works this next couple of months.   I believe….well, it’s not about me.  It’s about what God is doing, and God is using the young leaders in this youth group in incredible ways.   We have amazing worship leaders, amazing young women who are chasing after God.   I also see transition happening again in the next couple months, old leadership stepping away, and we’ll see how new leadership steps up.   It’s such an honor to be working with this group of people.    We’ve had some awesome fellowship with different events, and who would have thought we would have grown as we have.   God is doing some cool things, I’m just glad to be a part of it.

Leave a Reply

