Psalm 119:30-32

30 I have chosen the way of faithfulness;
   I have set my heart on your laws.  David is stating he’s made a choice with is life.   He’s chosen the way of faithfulness.   It’s the same choice everyone has, which path do we take in life, in faith, in our life path, however you want to call it.  The writer is making a conscious choice to run after faithfulness.   In the end, it’s a conscious choice we make.  We can’t simply blindly choose to be a Christian, it’s not enough, to go through the motions.  We….I have to daily choose the way of faithfulness.  To daily set my heart after chasing after God’s laws, to read and dig into God’s word.  To set my Heart simply means to be determined.  A fighter has to set into a good stance when he fights, or like any general, they have to set their forces in the right mode.   So to with my heart.  I have to set it in the right way to chase after and know God’s word.
31 I hold fast to your statutes, LORD;
   do not let me be put to shame.   Part 1 David is saying, he’s holding on to God’s word, he’s studied, possibly even memorized God’s word.  It’s a goal I need to get back to.  To Knowing God’s word and holding onto it like I would any lifeline.   Part 2 is simply saying, don’t let me embarrass myself.   Or possibly he’s asking not to have shame brought upon him.   It’s interesting.   Shame is such a tremendous fear.  I know I’m afraid of being ashamed, of bringing shame to myself, my family, my church.    The NAS version is “O LORD, do not put me to shame!”   So, in essence is David saying shame is a punishment God uses for disobedience?   Well, I think God uses shame to bring us back to a right relationship when we screw up, it’s the one thing that really gets’ our attention.
32 “I run in the path of your commands,
   for you have broadened my understanding”  When he chase’s  after God, when he is  obedient and walk in HIS way, I think David is saying, because of all this, I have more understanding.   It’s true, when I seek after God, and when I spend time in the word, I’m better able to understand the world around me for what it is.  I’m better able to understand the motives and hurts and desires for what they are.   Understanding comes from seeking to know more than just my own little scrap of ground and experience.    Understanding comes from seeking after God and allowing HIM to speak into my life about the needs around me.  Who do I need to minister to.     In the grand scheme of things, it’s not enough to  seek understanding for the purpose of understanding myself….that’s just being selfish.   I seek to understand because God wants me to be involved in the lives of others and to be minister to them, and how I can best walk with them through life.   Man wasn’t made to walk alone.  

Leave a Reply

