PSALM 119:27-29

27 Cause me to understand the way of your precepts,
   that I may meditate on your wonderful deeds.    Key words in this verse: Understand, and meditate.  If I felt frisky, I’d try to diagram it, maybe pull out the subject/verb/pronoun’s etc….but yeah, not going to try that one at the moment.  I’d have to go back and take English 101 all over again.   BUT, looking at this verse, it’s pretty straight forward.   David is saying “HELP me to understand YOUR word, so I can better meditate on your amazing power”.   It’s a constant in this section, he’s stated in so many different ways, you can see it’s his heartbeat, his passion.   Shouldn’t it be mine.

28 My soul is weary with sorrow;
   strengthen me according to your word.   He’s burned out, he’s depressed, he’s bottomed out.  Regardless of how you want to say it, he’s got nothing left.   You can look back at I and II Samuel and try to figure out at what point he’s saying this, there are so many instances when David is at rock bottom and all he can do is cry out to God.   When he does, he finds strength.  That’s the object lesson for this verse.   When we’re bottomed out, dig into the word of God and find strength.  HE will give it.  
29 Keep me from deceitful ways;
   be gracious to me and teach me your law.   David’s desire is to be a man of integrity, and he knows to be one, he needs to find it in the Law.  Our….MY desire should be that of David’s; to be a person of integrity, to do that I have to keep myself in the word of God.   To go humbly to God and say “teach me.”  That’s what HE wants of me.

Leave a Reply

