Psalms 119:12-16, part two

So, it’s 11:40pm and I’m still at the Hospital.  The Nursing supervisor asked if I would stay over for a little bit and sit at the reception desk due to all the construction they’re doing at the hospital.  Sure, why not.  I agreed to stay til 3am.  It’s overtime, why not.     I’ve got to be honest, I’m feeling a little….hmm….impatient…..restless.   The feeling that there’s more I can do than what I’m doing now.   I guess the only thing I can do is wait on what God has for me…..and continue mailing out resumes.   God’s timing isn’t exactly my own, and I don’t want to try to “rush” God’s will, that never actually works out to well.   Patience.  Must. Have. Patience.

Psalms 119

12.  “Blessed are You, O LORD;
Teach me Your statutes. ”   What more can I say about this verse.  That’s my prayer, Teach me O Lord, just teach me.

13. “With my lips I have told of
All the ordinances of Your mouth.”  Am I vocal about what God has taught me?  About what He is teaching?   That’s something I wonder about, am I being vocal enough.

14. “I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies,
As much as in all riches. ”    Do I find Joy in seeking after Him as I would in seeking after earthly treasures?   I think David is saying, “I value your word, more than anything of earthly value. ”   I’m not sure if I can actually say I’m to that point.   I value what the word says, I treasure it, but do I consider it of more value than anything the world can offer me.   For most things, I wouldn’t trade it for anything, but I got to be honest and say do I consider of the highest value…..I don’t know.

15. “I will meditate on Your precepts
And regard Your ways. ”   Meditate.   For the longest time, when I heard that word, my mind fixated on the new age application of it.   It’s more than that, as I’m learning, it’s communing with God, it’s letting God “speak” into my life by just listening in the stillness.   It’s meditating on God’s word and focusing on what God is saying through that verse.   To “regard Your Ways”; David is saying he will consider, he will live according to what God has written out.   Fascinating

16. “I shall delight in Your statutes;
I shall not forget Your word. ”   To delight in God’s word.   David’s desire was to enjoy reading and understanding God’s word.  The Definition of delight is:  “a high degree of pleasure or enjoyment; joy; rapture”    That is the ideal, that should be the desire of any Christians heart, but can we….can I say that?   If I’m not constantly in the word can I actually say I take delight in it?

So thus ends Vs 9-16.   At least me breaking it down.    I don’t start digging into the next section til sunday.  I’m going to still dig deeper into this section the rest of this week, but I think I’m also going to dig elsewhere, to start finding delight in God’s word.

Leave a Reply

